Queensland Royal Thomian 20-20 Encounter

The Annual Queensland Royal Thomian T20 Cricket encounter, played for the late Nissanka Weeratne Shield, was held on 18th November 2012 at D M Henderson Park, Macgregor. Despite overcast conditions the match went ahead after Royal captain Sanath Weeratne won the toss and put the Thomians led by Sadeesh Dissanayake into bat. After a very cautious start by the Thomians, the Royalists managed to break through by bowling a very disciplined line and length. The over cautious approach hurt the Thomians as the Royalists managed to chip in quick wickets soon after the opening partnership was broken. In the end the Thomians were all out for 74

 runs in their allotted 20 overs. Michael Jeh top scored for the Thomians with 10 runs while Varun Wijewardena bowled a magnificent spell, taking 4 wickets in 3 overs for just 11 runs. Shan Attygalle also bowled well for Royal by capturing two quick wickets at a crucial time.

Despite difficult weather conditions, the Royalists began their chase on a positive note by

scoring at a healthy rate during the first 5 overs. The opening partnership took Royal up to 15 runs short of victory, when the Thomians finally managed to get a breakthrough in the 8th over. However, it was too late for the Thomians to exert any pressure on the Royalists as they cruised

to victory in the 10th over for the loss of just one wicket, and ensured the shield remained at the Royal camp for the second year in a row. For Royal, Shan Attygalle made 18 and Sameer Bolonghe carried the bat with a well compiled 31 runs and was awarded the best batsman’s trophy. Royal wicket keeper Shameer Ismail was adjudged best fielder for his excellent work behind the stumps, while Varun Wijewardena was recognised as the best bowler as well as the man of the match for his brilliant bowling figures. The event was s

ponsored by Watling Roche Lawyers and was attended by old boys of both schools, supporters and well-wishers.